Who are the Governors?

The governing body is made up as follows:

  • 8 foundation governors (to include three parents) appointed by St Thomas' Parochial Church Council:
    Mr Peter Speed (Chair)
    Mrs Katy Tait
    Rev Michael Ridley
    Mrs Sheila Barton
    Mrs Elaine Smith
    Mr Gary Smith
    Mrs Melanie Girdharry
    Mrs Melanie Wilson

  • 1 LEA governor appointed by the Local Authority
    Mrs Diane Mantle

  • 2 parent governors elected by parents
    Mr Andy Holland
    Mrs Naomi Blyth

  • 2 staff governors (including the headteacher) 
    Mr Ian Moss
    Mrs Jackie Parker

  • 1 co-opted governor appointed by the Governing Body
    Mr John Harding

The Governors have a responsibility for the proper conduct of the school and have specific powers and duties which are set out in detail in a document called The Instrument of Government.  St. Thomas’ is Church of England Aided and this gives the Governors further distinct responsibilities.  Some of these are financial. For example, the Governors have to meet 10% of the cost of repairs to the exterior of school.  Governors are legally bound to hold at least one meeting per term to discuss matters that are their responsibility.  Attendance records can be seen below. 

Link Governors with specific roles
In addition to attending termly meetings, our Governors have responsibilities for specific areas. They come into school regularly to discuss and review progress with relevant staff, reporting their findings back to the Governing Body.

Peter Speed - Computing, PE/Sports Premium 
Katy Tait - Modern Foreign Languages
Sheila Barton - More Able & Talented Pupils, Equality, Diversity & British Values
Melanie Girdharry - Science, SEND, Pupil Premium
Michael Ridley - RE, Collective Worship & Christian Distinctiveness
Diane Mantle - Maths, Early Years
Elaine Smith - Safeguarding & Child Protection
Melanie Wilson - English
Naomi Blyth - PSHE
Gary Smith - Curriculum 

Governors of the school serve a four-year term of office. 

The Chair of the Board of Governors, Mr Peter Speed, can be contacted via the school office. 

Warrington Local Authority carries out the duties of Clerk to the Governors.



T. 01925 268722
E. stthomas_primary@warrington.gov.uk

Privacy and cookies policy© St Thomas CE Primary School. All rights reserved. 2018